Skip to content

Top 150 Social Media Marketing Influencers Oct ’12

November 2, 2012

After the monumental win against the Detroit Tigers, the San Francisco Giants swept the social web with a storm! So much that there was 768 conversations in the Social Media Marketing community in the past month about the Giants.

Congratulations to the Giants!

Tying into the community, here is the much anticipated Top 150 SMM Influencers Oct 2012:

*Update
These blogs are in our list of top English speaking influencers. We also map 12 other international communities! We’d love to answer your questions, so please email conversation@ecairn.com. Click here to check out our latest improvements to eCairn Conversation™.

Rank Pic Name URL Trend Move Twitt
1 Seth’s Blog sethgodin.typepad.com - -
2 Jeremiah Owyang web-strategist.com/blog UP 1
3 Chris Brogan chrisbrogan.com DOWN -1
4 Social Media Today socialmediatoday.com - New
5 Brian Solis briansolis.com DOWN -1
6 Logic+Emotion darmano.typepad.com - -
7 CopyBlogger copyblogger.com UP 7
8 Jason Falls socialmediaexplorer.com DOWN -3
9 Valeria Maltoni conversationagent.com DOWN -1
10 Jason Baer convinceandconvert.com - -
11 Mitch Joel twistimage.com/blog UP 7
12 SocialMediaExaminer socialmediaexaminer.com DOWN -3
13 MarketingProfs Daily Fix mpdailyfix.com UP 2
14 Internet Marketing blog.hubspot.com DOWN -2
15 PR-Squared pr-squared.com UP 1
16 Search Engine Land searchengineland.com DOWN -9
17 Online Marketing toprankblog.com DOWN -4
18 Spin Sucks spinsucks.com UP 11
19 Steve Rubel Stream steverubel.com UP 49
20 Shel Holtz blog.holtz.com UP 2
21 Neville Hobson nevillehobson.com UP 3
22 Web Ink Now webinknow.com DOWN -5
23 Search Engine Marketing searchenginewatch.com - -
24 BuzzMachine buzzmachine.com DOWN -5
25 Jaffe Juice jaffejuice.com - -
26 AllFacebook allfacebook.com - New
27 Ducttape Marketing ducttapemarketing.com DOWN -6
28 Scobleizer scobleizer.com DOWN -2
29 The Viral Garden moblogsmoproblems.blogspot.com DOWN -1
30 Drew McLellan drewsmarketingminute.com UP 7
31 Geoff Livingston geofflivingston.com UP 13
32 SocialMediaMarketing scottmonty.com UP 1
33 Influential Marketing rohitbhargava.typepad.com UP 3
34 Peter Kim beingpeterkim.com UP 1
35 Internet Marketing News marketingpilgrim.com DOWN -1
36 Inside Network insidefacebook.com - New
37 Servant of Chaos servantofchaos.com UP 9
38 PR Measurement kdpaine.blogs.com DOWN -6
39 CC Chapman cc-chapman.com - New
40 Strategic Public Relations prblog.typepad.com UP 3
41 Toby Bloomberg bloombergmarketing.blogs.com UP 18
42 Danny Brown dannybrown.me DOWN -1
43 How to Change the World blog.guykawasaki.com DOWN -1
44 The Buzz Bin livingstonbuzz.com UP 7
45 Adverblog adverblog.com UP 8
46 SEO Blog seomoz.org/blog DOWN -16
47 Social Fresh socialfresh.com - New
48 Brand Builder thebrandbuilder.wordpress.com DOWN -28
49 ProBlogger problogger.net DOWN -22
50 Phil Fernandez blog.marketo.com UP 48
51 B.L. Ochman whatsnextblog.com DOWN -4
52 iMedia Connection imediaconnection.com UP 11
53 Greg Verdino gregverdino.typepad.com DOWN -1
54 Avinash kaushik.net/avinash - New
55 Liz Strauss successful-blog.com DOWN -10
56 Edelman Digital edelmandigital.com DOWN -16
57 Social Media Club socialmediaclub.org UP 14
58 SocialTimes.com socialtimes.com UP 4
59 Dave Fleet davefleet.com UP 23
60 Media Bistro mediabistro.com/prnewser UP 14
61 Bad Pitch badpitch.blogspot.com DOWN -3
62 Communication Overtones overtonecomm.blogspot.com DOWN -13
63 Church of the Customer churchofthecustomer.com UP 14
64 Shelly Kramer v3im.com - New
65 Stowe Boyd stoweboyd.com DOWN -8
66 Brand Autopsy brandautopsy.typepad.com UP 7
67 CK’s Blog ck-blog.com DOWN -19
68 Ann Handley annhandley.com UP 16
69 Mack Collier mackcollier.com DOWN -3
70 Ben McConnell customerevangelists.typepad.com DOWN -1
71 Drew B theblogconsultancy.typepad.com UP 38
72 PR Guy’s Musings stuartbruce.biz DOWN -8
73 POP! PR Jots pop-pr.blogspot.com UP 3
74 Edelman edelman.com/speak_up/blog - New
75 Search Engine Journal searchenginejournal.com DOWN -21
76 WebProNews webpronews.com - New
77 Peter Shankman shankman.com DOWN -22
78 Sphinn / Hot Topics sphinn.com DOWN -8
79 John Bell johnbell.typepad.com UP 2
80 Brains On Fire Blog brainsonfire.com/blog UP 19
81 Marketing & Strategy blog.futurelab.net UP 12
82 B2B Mkting Zone b2bmarketingzone.com UP 21
83 Amber & Tamsen brasstackthinking.com DOWN -44
84
Jeffbullas’s Blog jeffbullas.com UP 39
85 Customers Rock customersrock.net UP 11
86 GlobalNeighbourhoods redcouch.typepad.com DOWN -7
87 Joe Pulizzi blog.junta42.com DOWN -12
88 Paul Mcenany heehawmarketing.typepad.com UP 2
89 Neil Perkin neilperkin.typepad.com UP 11
90 Pro PR propr.ca UP 1
91 Techno//Marketer technomarketer.typepad.com UP 10
92 ConverStations converstations.com UP 38
93 Social Media Informer socialmediainformer.com DOWN -28
94 Simply Zesty simplyzesty.com DOWN -16
95
Citizen Marketer 2.1 blog.stroutmeister.com UP 22
96 Augie Ray experiencetheblog.com - New
97 Community Guy communityguy.com DOWN -9
98 Going Social Now goingsocialnow.com UP 35
99 The Future Buzz thefuturebuzz.com DOWN -27
100 Nick Burcher nickburcher.com UP 8
101 Inside Marketers Studio marketersstudio.com UP 18
102 Adliterate adliterate.com UP 27
103 AdPulp adpulp.com DOWN -1
104 Seroundtable seroundtable.com UP 32
105 Ardath marketinginteractions.typepad.com - New
106 Chaos Scenario chaosscenario.com UP 14
107 Tom Webster brandsavant.com DOWN -107
108 Josh Hallett hyku.com UP 16
109 Harte of Marketing theharteofmarketing.com DOWN -22
110 Christopher S. Penn christopherspenn.com DOWN -79
111 Elizabeth Albrycht ringblog.typepad.com/corporatepr - New
112 Branding Strategy Insider brandingstrategyinsider.com UP 16
113 Aden Hepburn digitalbuzzblog.com - New
114 John Cass pr.typepad.com - New
115 David Reich reichcomm.typepad.com DOWN -3
116 Matt Heinz heinzmarketing.com/matt-on-marketing/blog/ - New
117 Mark Schaefer businessesgrow.com/blog DOWN -4
118 Inside PR insidepr.ca - New
119 Arik C. Hanson arikhanson.com DOWN -63
120 Webbiquity webbiquity.com UP 20
121 Outspoken Media outspokenmedia.com DOWN -36
122 We Are Social wearesocial.net DOWN -36
123 Tara Hunt horsepigcow.com UP 8
124 Doug Haslam doughaslam.com - New
125 PR Conversations prconversations.com - -
126 The Ad Contrarian adcontrarian.blogspot.com - New
127 Katie Chatfield katiechatfield.wordpress.com UP 16
128 Colin McKay canuckflack.com - New
129 Ogilvy blog.ogilvypr.com DOWN -40
130 Brandflakesforbreakfast brandflakesforbreakfast.com - New
131 Communications Consultant prblogger.com DOWN -5
132 Collaborate Marketing collaboratemarketing.com - New
133 Andy Sernovitz damniwish.com DOWN -41
134 B2B Blead Blog blog.startwithalead.com UP 13
135 Forrester blogs.forrester.com/marketing - New
136 Dave Winer scripting.com - New
137
John Battelle battellemedia.com - New
138 Brand DNA branddna.blogspot.com - New
139 J Moyer instituteforpr.org - New
140 Unmarketing unmarketing.com - New
141 Social Media Influence socialmediainfluence.com - New
142 Voce Communications vocecommunications.com - New
143 B2B Digital b2bdigital.net - New
144 Charlene Li charleneli.com DOWN -33
145 Savvy Sisters savvyb2bmarketing.com/blog UP 4
146 Josh Bernoff forrester.typepad.com/groundswell DOWN -42
147 Top Rank Marketing toprankmarketing.com - New
148 Shonali Burke waxingunlyrical.com DOWN -53
149
Paul Gillin gillin.com/blog - New
150 Fresh Networks freshnetworks.com/blog DOWN -9
7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 1:19 am

    Thanx for including me in your top 150 list.

    • eCairn permalink*
      December 6, 2012 6:09 pm

      Your blog is great, Toby!

  2. November 21, 2012 7:21 pm

    What a monster list, Kristine! Nice job. I would add a couple more people to the list. Pat Flynn of Smart Passive Income and Kim Roach of Buzz Blogger. They have both been insanely inspiring to me and their social tactics are something to be emulated. Cheers!

    • eCairn permalink*
      December 6, 2012 6:11 pm

      Hi CJ, thank you!

      I’ll make sure to check out their blogs and add Patt & Kim into our SMM list.

      Cheers!

  3. December 6, 2012 4:58 pm

    #116 is wrong. You have Matt Heinz listed with Michael Brenners’ link. Tweeting Matt in 3..2..1.. if you don’t fix it. ;D

    • eCairn permalink*
      December 6, 2012 6:10 pm

      Hi Jamie,

      Thanks for stopping by, and the feedback! Its fixed! :)

Trackbacks

  1. TheSocialB2B 5 LinkedIn Promotion Tactics for Web Marketers | Social Media Today | TheSocialB2B

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,108 other followers

%d bloggers like this: